DrivingTips.com

Author - drivingtips

California Minors Driving Permit Requirements For 2021

California Minors Driving Permit Requirements 2021

Before an individual under the age of 18 can obtain a driver’s license in California, they must take a California state-approved driver’s ed course, obtain a driving permit and complete 50 hours of driving practice.

The requirements to obtain a permit in California are pretty straightforward, but let’s get into the exact details.

The 4 Best Online Driver’s Ed Courses In California

Eligibility To Get A California Driving Permit

A minor is a person under 18 years of age. Minors must have their applications (for a driver’s license or any change of driver’s license class), signed by their parent(s) or legal guardian(s). If both parents/guardians have joint custody, both must sign.

NOTE: Minors may not work as a driver for pay and they may not drive a school bus containing pupils.

To get a permit you must:

  • Be at least 15½ years of age, but under 18 years of age.
  • Complete the Driver License or Identification Card Application (DL 44) form.
  • Have your parent(s) or guardian(s) sign the DL 44 form.
  • Pass the traffic laws and road signs test. If you fail the test, you must wait one week before retaking the test.
  • If you are 15½ –17½ years of age, you will need to provide proof that you:
    • Completed driver education (Certificate of Completion of Driver Education) OR
    • Are enrolled and participating in an approved integrated driver education/driver training program (Certificate of Enrollment in an Integrated [Classroom] Driver Education and Driver Training Program). For more information, refer to the Provisional Licensing (FFDL 19) Fast Facts brochure at www.dmv.ca.gov.

The provisional permit is not valid until you start your behind-the-wheel driver training with an instructor or reach age 17½.

If you have a permit and plan to drive outside of California, check licensing requirements in that state or country.

NOTE: If you are at least 17½ years of age, you may obtain a permit without completing driver education or driver training. However, you cannot get a driver license before you are 18 years old.

Restrictions To Driving Permits For Minors

Your permit is not valid until you begin driver training; your instructor will sign the permit to validate it. You must practice with a licensed California driver: parent, guardian, driving instructor, spouse, or an adult 25 years of age or older. The person must sit close enough to you to take control of the vehicle at any time. A provisional permit does not allow you to drive alone – not even to a DMV office to take a driving test.

Driver’s License Requirements For Anyone Under 18 Years Old

You must:

  • Be at least 16 years old.
  • Prove that you have finished both driver education and driver training.
  • Have had a California instruction permit or an instruction permit from another state for at least six months.
  • Provide parent(s) or guardian(s) signature(s) on your instruction permit stating that you have completed 50 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours must be night driving) as outlined in the California Parent-Teen Training Guide (DL 603). Visit the Teen website at www.dmv.ca.gov/teenweb/ or call 1-800-777-0133 to request this booklet.
  • Pass the behind-the-wheel driving test. You have three chances to pass the driving test while your permit is valid. If you fail the behind-the-wheel driving test, you must pay a retest fee for a second or subsequent test and wait two weeks before you are retested.

Once you have your provisional driver license, you may drive alone, as long as you do not have any collisions or traffic violations.

When you become 18 years old, the “provisional” part of your driver license ends. You may keep your provisional photo license or pay a fee for a duplicate driver license without the word “provisional.”

During the first 12 months after you are licensed, you cannot drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. and you cannot transport passengers under 20 years of age unless you are accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian, a licensed driver 25 years of age or older, or a licensed or certified driving instructor.

Driver’s License Restrictions For Minors

The law allows the following exceptions when reasonable transportation is not available and it is necessary for you to drive. A signed note explaining the necessity to drive and the date when this driving necessity will end must be kept in your possession for the following exceptions (emancipated minors are excluded from this requirement):

  • Medical necessity to drive when reasonable transportation alternatives are inadequate. The note must be signed by a physician with the diagnosis and probable date of recovery.
  • Schooling or school-authorized activity. The note must be signed by the school principal, dean, or designee.
  • Employment necessity and the need to operate a vehicle as part of your employment. The note must be signed by the employer verifying employment.
  • The necessity to drive an immediate family member. A note signed by your parent(s) or legal guardian(s) is required, stating the reason and probable end date of the necessity to drive the immediate family member.

EXCEPTION: These requirements do not apply to an emancipated minor. You must have declared yourself emancipated and provided the DMV with proof of financial responsibility (SR 1P) in lieu of your parent(s) or guarantor(s) signature(s).

Driving Permit Requirements For Out-Of-State Minors

All out-of-state minor applicants in California must comply with the application requirements outlined in the “Application Requirements for a Basic Class C Driver License” section on page 4 and must have parent(s) and/or legal guardian(s) signature on the Driver License or Identification Card Application (DL 44) form.

Out-of-state minor’s permit applicants must meet the requirements listed in the “Minor’s Permit Requirements” section on page 10. In addition, if your driver education and driver training courses were taken in a state other than California, DMV may accept a To Secondary Schools Other Than California Schools (DL 33) form completed by the out-of-state secondary school. You may obtain a DL 33 form at your local DMV office or by calling the DMV at 1-800-777-0133. Send the DL 33 form to your out-of-state secondary school and ask them to complete and return to you.

Out-Of-State Minor’s Driver License Requirements

You will be asked to present your out-of-state driver’s license and pass a knowledge exam as part of the application process. The behind-the-wheel driving test for holders of out-of-state driver licenses is normally waived. However, DMV may require a behind-the-wheel driving test for any type of driver’s license application.

NOTE: Out-of-state minor applicants are subject to provisional restrictions per California law.

VIDEO: How To Get A Driver’s License In California

What Is The California DMV Driver’s License Examination Process In 2021

California Drivers License Examination

The California DMV driver’s license examination process is very straightforward. In this quick and simple guide, you’ll understand what the examination process is like.

How To Get Your First Driver’s License In California As A New Driver

If you have never had a driver’s license before and you live in the state of California, there is a pretty simple process depending on how old you are. If you are under 18, the requirements are different and a bit more strict.

Process To Obtain A California Driver’s License Under The Age Of 18

If you are under the age of 18 and want to get your first driver’s license in California, you will need to complete a few steps. The first step is to sign up for and complete several hours of “classroom” driver’s ed training. This classroom time can actually be completed by enrolling in an online driver’s ed course in California.

Once you have completed your driver’s ed course, you can obtain a driving permit. From there, you’ll need to complete 50 hours of driving instruction with a licensed California driver aged 25 or older.

After that, you’re ready to head to the DMV so you can take your vision exam, written test, and driving exam. Once you pass those, you get a provisional driver’s license and can drive on your own!

Listed below are a few of the better online driver’s ed courses to consider.

The 4 Best Online Driver’s Ed Courses In California

The California DMV Driver’s License Examination Process For New Drivers 18 And Over

If you are a California resident over the age of 18 and you have never had a driver’s license before, the examination process to get your California driver’s license is very easy. There are no driver’s ed courses required and you do not need to have any behind-the-wheel training time.

All you need to do is schedule a time to go to the DMV, take your vision test, written exam, and pass a quick driving test. Once you’ve done that, you get a full fledged California driver’s license!

California DMV Driver’s License Examination Process For New California Residents

If you just moved to California, you’ll need to apply for a California driver’s license within 10 days of establishing residence.

The examination process is simple. Schedule an appointment at the DMV so that you can bring proof of residency. You’ll also need to take a vision exam and a written exam. As long as you had a valid driver’s license from another U.S. state, you’ll be able to get your California driver’s license without ever having to take a behind-the-wheel driving exam.

VIDEO: How To Get A Driver’s License In California

Where To Take The California DMV Driver’s License Tests

You may take the knowledge, vision, and behind-the-wheel driving tests at any DMV field office that provides driver license services.

To save time, make an appointment online at: www.dmv.ca.gov or call 1-800-777-0133 during normal business hours.

NOTE: The DMV will not administer written or audio exams after 4:30 p.m. to ensure you have sufficient time for testing.

Knowledge and vision tests are required when you apply for an original driver’s license or upgrade to a different class of driver’s license.

Cheating On Your Driver’s License Exam Is A VERY Serious Offense

The use of testing aids is strictly prohibited. This includes, but is not limited to: The California Driver Handbook, cheat sheets, or electronic communication devices such as a cell phone, hand-held computer, etc.

If any testing aid is used during the written test, the written test will be marked as a “failure.” An action may also be taken by the DMV against your driving privilege or the driving privilege of anyone else who assists you in the examination process.

Types Of California DMV Driver’s License Examinations In 2021

California driver’s license examinations include:

  • A vision test. (Bring your eyeglasses or contact lenses to the exam.)
  • A test of traffic laws and road signs.
  • A behind-the-wheel driving test, if required. You must have an appointment to take the behind-the-wheel driving test. For the driving test, bring:— Your old driver’s license or instruction permit, if you have one.
    — A licensed driver age 18 years or older with a valid driver’s license.
    — Proof that the vehicle is properly insured.

IMPORTANT: If you use a rental vehicle, the driving test applicant must be listed on the rental contract. The contract must not exclude driving tests.

— A vehicle that is safe to drive, and has valid registration. The vehicle’s brake lights, horn, parking brake, and turn signals must work properly. The vehicle cannot have bald tires, which would have less than 1/32 inch tread depth in any two adjacent grooves. The driver’s side window must roll down. The windshield must allow a full unobstructed field of vision for you and the examiner. There must be at least two rearview mirrors (one must be on the left outside of the vehicle). You will be asked to locate the controls for the vehicle’s headlights, windshield wipers, defroster, and emergency flashers. You must demonstrate how to use the parking brake.

NOTE: The behind-the-wheel driving test will be rescheduled if the vehicle does not meet the above requirements or if you refuse to use your seat belt during the driving test.

For more information, refer to the DMV’s Driving Test (FFDL 22) Fast Facts brochure, DMV videos, and sample tests available online at www.dmv.ca.gov.

VIDEO: What The California DMV Driving Test Is Like

What Is A Class C California Driver’s License?

What Is A Class C California Drivers License

A California Class C driver’s license is the most popular type of driver’s license issued in the state. Here are the things you are legally allowed to do with a Class C driver’s license in California.

You may drive a…

  • 2-axle vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 26,000 lbs. or less.
  • 3-axle vehicle weighing 6,000 lbs. or less gross.
  • Housecar 40 feet or less.
  • 3-wheel motorcycle with two wheels located in the front or back.
  • Vanpool vehicle designed to carry more than 10 persons, but no more than 15 persons including the driver.

NOTE: A driver of a vanpool may operate with a Class C license but shall possess evidence of a medical examination required for a Class B license when operating vanpool vehicles. The driver must keep in the vanpool vehicle a statement signed under penalty of perjury, that he or she has not been convicted of reckless driving, drunk driving, or hit-and-run in the last five years (CVC §12804.9(j)).

You may tow a:

  • Single vehicle with a GVWR of 10,000 lbs. or less, including a tow dolly, if used.
  • With a vehicle weighing 4,000 lbs. or more unladen, you may tow a:
  • Trailer coach or 5th-wheel travel trailer under 10,000 lbs. GVWR when towing is not for compensation.
  • 5th-wheel travel trailer exceeding 10,000 lbs. but under 15,000 lbs. GVWR, when towing is not for compensation, and with endorsement.
  • A farmer or employee of a farmer may drive:
  • Any combination of vehicles with a GVWR of 26,000 lbs. or less, if used exclusively in agricultural operations and it is not for hire or compensation.

NOTE: Class C licensees may not tow more than one vehicle. A passenger vehicle, regardless of weight, may not tow more than one vehicle. A motor vehicle under 4,000 lbs. unladen weight may not tow any vehicle weighing 6,000 lbs. or more gross. (CVC §21715)

Other classes of driver licenses/endorsements

  • Noncommercial Class A
  • Noncommercial Class B
  • Commercial Class A
  • Commercial Class B
  • Commercial Class C
  • Motorcycle Class M1
  • Motorcycle Class M2

Commercial endorsements:

  • Doubles/Triples
  • Hazardous Materials
  • Passenger Transportation
  • Tank Vehicle
  • Ambulance Driver Certificate
  • School Bus Endorsement
  • Tow Truck Driver Certificate
  • Verification of Transit Training Certificate
  • Firefighter Endorsement

NOTE: Commercially licensed firefighters must submit a Medical Examination Report (DL 51) every 2 years. Noncommercially licensed firefighters can submit a self-certifying Health Questionnaire (DL 546).

Detailed information on other driver license types and endorsements can be found in the California Commercial Driver Handbook, Recreational Vehicles and Trailers Handbook, Ambulance Drivers Handbook, California Parent-Teen Training Guide, and California Motorcycle Handbook. Please refer to these handbooks for additional information.

First Speeding Ticket? Here’s What To Do

What To Do After Getting First Speeding Ticket

So, you got your first speeding ticket… Sucks, huh?

It seems like speeding tickets are one of those things that happen when everything else is going wrong, too.

But that doesn’t change the fact you are now a criminal and need to repay your debts to society!

Seriously though, don’t panic. While I’m absolutely judging you, I’m not mad at you, I’m just disappointed. But that’s why I’m going to help you out. You see, I believe in redemption, rehabilitation, and second chances. We won’t send you to the chopping block after your very first speeding ticket. But be warned, you’re on thin ice!

Crazy Speeding Ticket Facts (You’re Not Alone!)

What To Do After Getting First Speeding Ticket

My snarky comments aside, let’s get real. Getting your first speeding ticket isn’t a big deal. If this was your 5th speeding ticket in a year, ok, that’s a big deal. But most Americans eventually get a traffic ticket. There are about 200,000,000 licensed drivers in the United States. With that in mind, check out these insane facts:

  • More than 100,000 people per day receive a speeding citation (that’s more than 40,000,000 speeding tickets each year!).
  • About 20% of all drivers on the road will get a speeding ticket this year.
  • The average cost of a speeding ticket in the United States exceeds $150, for a total of $6,232,000,000 in speeding ticket fines annually (yeah, that’s 6 BILLION).
  • The average police officer issues $300,000 in speeding fines annually.
  • Of all these speeding tickets, less than 5% are ever contested in court.

SOURCE

What To Do When You’re Being Pulled Over For Speeding (Next Time)

You’re driving down the street minding your own business when all of a sudden you notice red and blue lights moving closer to the rear of your vehicle.

“Wait, is that a cop?”

“Ah crap, it is.”

Then you hear a loud siren that starts getting louder and louder.

“No way he’s coming after me. Right?”

“…….RIGHT?”

Within 10 seconds you realize that yes, you’re being pulled over for a traffic violation.

“Son of a…..”

This is not the time you want to freak out. Don’t slam on the brakes and don’t pull to the left or in a median. Quickly but safely pull to a safe area on the right and simply wait.

When the police officer approaches your window, just relax. Even if you feel you did nothing wrong, be respectful, and speak to him like you would anyone else.

A lot of people are very nervous around police officers. This causes people to act irrationally. For example, leave your dang seatbelt on unless you want to be accused of not wearing one. Don’t reach around in your car for your license and registration. Just chill. Sit there with your hands visible and just wait.

You have one of two choices here – You can either fess up to the cop and hope he or she has mercy by issuing a warning instead of a ticket, or you can be very careful to not say anything which could incriminate yourself (even if you admit to going a few mph over the limit, that’s still illegal so keep your mouth shut).

Keeping your mouth shut is what most lawyers would tell you to do as it gives you the best chance at winning in court. But a cop may see this as “not cooperating” and while that isn’t illegal, they probably will be less likely to show leniency and increases your odds of getting the ticket. The choice is yours.

What To Do AFTER You Receive A Speeding Ticket

First Speeding Ticket

Once you’ve been issued a speeding ticket, you have some choices to make.

When the 10 to 15-minute ordeal is over and the police officer drives away, you’re left with a piece of paper in your hand, the citation, explaining your fine, court date, and options for paying or contesting the speeding ticket.

After agreeing that you will appear at the courthouse within an allotted time regarding this citation, you may feel a bit confused about your options.

Now what do you do? Being a Deputy Court Clerk for nearly 10 years, let me offer you some helpful advice.

Step 1: Don’t Rush To The Courthouse Confessing your Crime

First, you don’t need to rush to the courthouse as soon as you get the ticket. Police officers don’t turn their ticket books in until their shift is over. Therefore, he will still have the court’s copy of your ticket his ticket book.

So, if you happen to run to the courthouse minutes after you were issued the ticket, more than likely, you’ll be sent away by the court clerk until a later date because the court won’t have a record of your citation.

Step 2: Take Time To Actually READ The Back Of Your Speeding Ticket

Second, take the time to read the back of the citation in order to choose the best way to keep the violation off your record. It’s amazing how many people don’t bother reading the ticket and just pay it, which also causes their insurance rates to go up due to having a speeding ticket on their driving record.

It is very important to keep traffic violations off your driving record because many states are making it difficult for drivers with violations to remain on the road. Don’t be lazy. Read the back of your ticket.

If the information on the citation sounds confusing, simply contact the courthouse by calling the phone number listed on the citation. Since many court clerks have a heavy workload, you should call at least three times and ask questions to three different clerks. You’ll find that you won’t receive complete information if you don’t make at least 3 contacts.

Step 3: What To Do If You Feel You Are Not Guilty Of The Speeding Ticket

Third, if you decide that you were not guilty of the offense and you want your day in court to express your opinion and disagreement with the ticket, this is your option.

“But I didn’t do nuthin’!”

Fair enough. Cops make mistakes, and plenty of people who get their first speeding ticket feel like they did nothing wrong. It happens all the time.

Fortunately, you live in the good ol’ US of A where the constitution demands we are allowed to face our accuser and defend ourselves.

However, be aware that people who fight their speeding tickets are rarely found not guilty for the offense. This is especially true in small towns.

You may, at best, get a reduction in the fine and then offered Deferred Adjudication or Defensive Driving to prevent the traffic violation from appearing on your record. d

But no matter what amount your fine is set at, you should be aware that there are court costs, which are really state fees, added to each fine amount.

So even if the Judge sets your fine for $1.00 you’ll still pay at least a $50.00 payment because state fees will be included.

Whatever option you choose to handle your violations don’t forget to follow through because there is little mercy offered to those who choose to ignore their order from the court.

However, if something happens and you’ve missed the due date of your fine or your court date, simply find out what the Judge’s name is and send him a letter as soon as you can with a detailed explanation for your non-compliance. Even a Judge can be understanding.

If you’re serious about fighting your speeding ticket, check out these 8 tips for getting out of a traffic ticket.

Pro Tip: Just Take Traffic School Or Defensive Driving & Be Done With It

Dismiss Speeding Ticket

If you truly feel you are not guilty and want to fight your speeding ticket in court out of principle, I get it. But even in that case, since this is your first speeding ticket, the fastest and most pain free way to move on with your life is to take traffic school or defensive driving.

The vast majority of states allow you to take an online traffic school or defensive driving course to completely dismiss the traffic ticket and remove it from your driving record. Heck, you might even get an insurance discount after taking the course, saving you money in the long run.

Instructions for taking traffic school are normally found on the back of the ticket. If it is your first speeding ticket and you otherwise have a clean driving record, you will most likely be able to elect for traffic school without ever having to go to court. It’s all handled online or through the mail.

Best Online Traffic School & Defensive Driving Courses For Ticket Dismissal

There are a lot of online traffic schools and defensive driving courses to choose from, but here are the 4 best courses you can sign up for. These are all fast, easy, and cheap. Just sign up, get it done, and move on with your life. If you’re lucky, this will be the last time you need to take a traffic school, but most of us get at least a few tickets in our lifetime.

Do Not Ignore Your Speeding Ticket!

First Speeding Ticket Tips

Just keep the ordeal in perspective and handle your citation responsibly just as you would a light bill or telephone bill. Don’t ignore it because it won’t go away.

Although you may be able to live with a candle instead of a light bulb or email instead of using a telephone, the negative effect of not taking care of a citation issued to you is an arrest warrant. If you’re issued an arrest warrant for your citation, the fine more than doubles and you are no longer afforded many of the options initially offered to you.

Therefore, if you receive a citation, immediately, put it somewhere you can remember it and in the forefront of your mind until it’s taken care of. This action will prevent further frustrations and annoyances when handling a traffic citation within the Justice System.

Who Must Obtain A California Driver’s License In 2021

Obtain A California Driver’s License In 2021

Do I need a California driver’s license?

This is a very basic and seemingly obvious question, but sometimes it’s hard to know if you actually need a California driver’s license. For example, here are some situations where it might get confusing…

  • You are a temporary resident of California with a valid out of state driver’s license
  • You recently moved to California
  • You have been driving on a learner’s permit
  • You are stationed in California as a member of the United States military
  • You are a sub-contractor living in employer housing

These are just a few areas where things can get confusing.

Obtaining a driver’s license in California is a relatively simple process, but as a part of obtaining your driver’s license, you must understand some of the basic requirements and also figure out if you actually need to obtain a driver’s license in California.

So, let’s get right to it…

Who Must Obtain A California Driver License?

Here is a basic list of people required to obtain a driver’s license in California.

California Residents

California residents who drive on public highways or use public parking facilities must have a valid California driver license, unless they are:

  • An officer or employee of the U. S. government operating a vehicle owned or controlled by the U.S. government on federal business, except when operating a commercial motor vehicle.
  • Driving or operating implements of husbandry not operated or moved over a highway.
  • Driving or operating an off-highway vehicle across a highway.

California Resident Military Personnel (U.S. Armed Forces)

If you are out-of-state on active military duty and have a valid California driver license, your and your spouse’s California driver license will be valid for the full time you are absent from California and for 30 days following your discharge date, if you are honorably discharged outside of California. Carry both, your driver license and discharge or separation documents, during those 30 days (CVC § 12817).

Call 1-800-777-0133 to obtain an Extension of License for Person in Armed Forces (DL 236) card which extends your California driver’s license.

NOTE: Your driver’s license is not valid if it has been suspended, canceled or revoked.

Nonresident Military Personnel Stationed in California

If you are 18 years of age or older, refer to the “California Residents” and “Adults Visiting California” sections on this page for additional information. Licensees eligible for military extensions should carry documentation from their home state to verify their status to law enforcement.

New California Residents

When you become a California resident and you want to drive in California, you must apply for a California driver’s license within 10 days. Residency is established in a variety of ways, including the following:

  • Being registered to vote in California elections.
  • Paying resident tuition at a California college or university.
  • Filing for a home owner’s property tax exemption.
  • Receiving any other privilege or benefit not ordinarily extended to nonresidents.

Adults Visiting California

Visitors over 18 years old with a valid driver’s license from their home state or country may drive in California without getting a California driver’s license as long as their home state driver’s license is valid.

Minors Visiting California

Visitors between 16 – 18 years old may drive with their home state driver license for only 10 days after arriving in California. After 10 days, they must have a:

  • Current California driver license, or
  • Nonresident Minor’s Certificate (which is issued by DMV) to a minor with proof of financial responsibility.

How To Obtain A Driver’s License In California

For more information about the requirements to obtain a California driver’s license, check out this easy guide.

However, obtaining a driver’s license in California isn’t a complicated process. Here is a video explaining how to do it whether you are an adult or teen just obtaining a driver’s license for the first time.

PRO TIP: For those of you new to the state of California, anytime you need to go to the DMV, make sure you schedule an appointment! In many states, you can just show up at the DMV with no problem, but in California, this could cost you a lot of unnecessary time. Always schedule an appointment online first.

How to Make a Car Safety Checklist for Your Car

Car Safety Checklist

Did you know that car manufacturers use an average of 8,000 bolts when they assemble a car? But it only takes one loose or missing bolt to make that car a hazardous machine.

As a result, there have been numerous laws and pieces of legislation passed over the past few decades to increase safety on the roads and decrease the number of fatal accidents that occur every year. Nevertheless, there are over six million accidents that occur every year, and almost half of these accidents are considered serious. These accidents and collisions cause various agencies over $200 billion every year in financial responsibility.

The three main causes for this large number of accidents are:

  • Speeding
  • Driving Under The Influence
  • Driving While Distracted

The average driver can help reduce this annual statistic by making sure they are driving a vehicle that is properly maintained. They also need to learn how to prepare for the different risks they may encounter on the road.

Do Not Drive While Distracted

This is one of the first and most basic steps that you can take to become a better driver. Stop changing the radio while you are driving. Do not look at your GPS and do not talk on your mobile phone. Never read the newspaper, put makeup on, or eat a meal behind the wheel either. You should only focus on the important task that is driving. If you need to divert your full attention away from the road whilst you are driving, pull your car off of the road. You’d be surprised by how many accidents are caused by simple distractions like these that take your hands off the wheel and your eyes off the road, so changing your habits will definitely make a huge difference and make the road a much safer place for all drivers, as well as pedestrians.

Buy a Car with a Good Safety Rating

Every year, several consumer protection agencies reveal the safest cars of that year. Before you purchase your car, check its safety rating. If you are buying a used car, you should check for the safety rating and the car’s history. The added safety features on today’s most advanced vehicles are making it easier to remain aware while on the road. For example, blind spot monitors can help you avoid collisions, and today’s cars can also sound an alarm if you are veering off into the next lane. Or you can invest in a car that has a backup camera or that parallel parks itself. Cars are now built stronger than ever, with more airbags too. The choices are endless, but be prepared to pay extra for these great safety features.

Choose a Good Mechanic

Knowing what mechanic to go to when your car is in need of repairs in vitally important to ensuring that the repairs will be made correctly and that your vehicle will operate better and more safely once the repairs are made. A negligent mechanic that is out just to make money, on the other hand, can do a lot more harm than good to your vehicle and, ultimately, to your safety on the road.

It can be difficult to know if a mechanic is reputable or not. You can ask for recommendations from friends and family. The mechanic that you choose should have all of the proper licenses and accreditations. Your car insurance company can also recommend a good mechanic because they deal with a variety of mechanics on a daily basis.

Take Special Precautions When Driving in the Winter

Winter driving can bring special challenges for a driver. You should double-check all of your blind spots before you move your vehicle into another lane, and you should drive much more slowly and carefully in order to avoid slipping on ice and snow, especially black ice that is invisible. Also, make sure your tyres have the proper tread, and purchase snow chains if you need them.

Have a Checklist Before You Go On A Road Trip

Make sure that you thoroughly inspect your vehicle before you go on a trip. It is best that you take your car to your mechanic before you leave for your trip, but if you are not able to, you can check several areas yourself:

  • Wiper Blades
  • All Lights
  • Fluid Levels
  • Battery
  • Tires

The number of car accidents will continue to increase if drivers do not become more aware of their driving habits and the safety of their cars. Always make sure your car is well maintained and stay alert!

VIDEO: Vehicle Safety Inspection Demo

Fast Texas Online Defensive Driving Course – Top 4 Courses In 2021

Fast Texas Online Defensive Driving 2021

Signing up for a Texas online defensive driving course is relatively easy. However, there are many courses available.

Chances are pretty high that you are not taking your Texas defensive driving course by choice, but rather, out of necessity due to a traffic ticket or to lower your insurance rates.

This quick guide will help you sign up for a fast Texas defensive driving course at the lowest price.

The 4 Cheapest & Fastest Texas Online Defensive Driving Courses In Texas For 2021

For those of you who wish to do your own research, I’ve provided plenty of information below to help you find the fastest Texas online defensive driving course. But if you just want some quick recommendations, I’ve got you covered.

The courses listed below are all state-approved for every county and court jurisdiction in the state. They’ve all been in business for over a decade (in most cases more than two decades), have excellent ratings and reviews online, and are generally considered to be the best and fastest online defensive driving courses in Texas for the lowest possible price.

These are the cheapest & fastest online defensive driving that the state of Texas allows by law as of 2021…

The 4 Best Online Defensive Driving Courses In Texas

Reviews Of The 4 Fastest Online Defensive Driving Courses In Texas

The online defensive driving courses listed above are the fastest you’ll find in the state of Texas. They meet the state-mandated minimum requirements and not a second more.

Any of these courses will work for ticket dismissal purposes no matter where you live in Texas, so you can’t go wrong with any of them, but they do each have their own unique advantages. So, let’s do a quick comparison for each of these defensive driving schools.


1. Go To Traffic School – Fastest & Cheapest Allowed By Texas Law

Fastest Texas Online Defensive Driving

Go To Traffic School is a no-brainer. There’s really not a reason to NOT sign up for them. This is not only a fast defensive driving course in Texas, it is guaranteed to be the cheapest.

The state of Texas has certain requirements for online defensive driving courses. For instance, a 6hr course actually needs to take 6 hours by the use of course timers. Go To Traffic School is the shortest allowed by Texas state law.

Is it going to be fun and exciting? Absolutely not. It’s going to be slow and boring. But this is literally the fastest online defensive driving course you’re allowed to take in Texas.

The state of Texas also regulates prices for online defensive driving courses. The minimum price allowed by law for an online defensive driving course in Texas is $25 as of 2021. So, guess what Go To Traffic School charges? That’s right, $25, the state minimum.

They’ve had MILLIONS of people use their courses across almost every state in the country. Plus, this course is constantly updated so it works well on mobile-devices and all that other good stuff.

Get The Best Price On Go To Traffic School Here


2. Aceable – Most Modern & Best For Mobile Devices

Fastest Defensive Driving Texas

Aceable is another fast online defensive driving course to take in Texas. This course can be completed in the state mandated 6hr minimum and is also the lowest legal price which is $25.

What makes Aceable different is how modern the course is. This is the best course to go with if you plan on taking your defensive driving course from a smartphone or tablet since they have recently built dedicated apps for all their courses.

Aceable is also a good choice if you want some videos and interactive features instead of reading page after page of plain text. They have a robot mascot named Ace that you’ll actually kinda miss once the course is over!

The vast majority of online defensive driving courses in Texas suck because they are so incredibly outdated. I’m not just talking about their 1992 videos and pictures seemingly from 1980’s textbooks. There are much bigger problems.

For example, Texas requires an “identity verification system” to be used in order to verify that YOU are really the one taking the course. The old outdated courses can cause verification issues, in which case you’ll need to contact their customer service to get let back into the course (have fun with that).

Issues like this aren’t a problem at Aceable since it was just built from the ground up a couple of years ago. This is definitely one of the best online defensive driving courses in Texas for 2021.

Get The Best Price On Aceable Here


3. Improv Traffic School – Most Entertaining

Quickest Defensive Driving Course Texas 2021

I absolutely love Improv Traffic School. Ok, well “love” might be a strong word when describing a defensive driving course, but the methodology behind this course is rather ingenious.

Improv Traffic School is run by the nationwide chain of Improv Comedy Clubs. They actually started out in the 1990’s before online defensive driving was ever even a thing.

For us old farts, we remember when you had to take a defensive driving class in a physical classroom. It sucked. You basically had to waste a saturday getting lectured at by a driving instructor for 6 hours.

Well, Improv Traffic School decided to make that experience entertaining. How? Get this… They began training their stand-up comedians to become certified defensive driving instructors. That sounds like a joke, but it isn’t!

Once online defensive driving became a thing in Texas, Improv Traffic School took that same approach and created online classes.

This Texas state-approved online defensive driving class is the fastest & cheapest allowed by law, plus you’ll be entertained along the way with funny stand-up routines, games, animations, memes, and all sorts of stuff to keep you from falling asleep.

Get The Best Price On Improv Traffic School Here


4. iDriveSafely – No Frills But Easy To Pass

iDriveSafely is one of the original online defensive driving courses approved by the DPS for ticket dismissal purposes. They’ve had millions of drivers use their course across many states for two decades, so they kinda have this down to a science.

There’s honestly nothing particularly interesting about this defensive driving course. They don’t have Hollywood comedians, they don’t have fancy videos, and it’s not revolutionary by any means.

But, some of you aren’t looking for Hollywood comedians, animated mascots, and videos to sit through. You just want a basic course that is fast, cheap, and easy to pass. I present to you, iDriveSafely.

Want to know what iDriveSafely is good for? Binge watching a new TV series. Yeah, seriously.

You see, taking defensive driving in Texas mostly sucks because each page is on a timer. That means there’s a lot of downtime. You’ve read a page, but there is still a bunch of time left on a timer that you need to wait for.

And really, nobody reads every word of their defensive driving course. You’ll find that the quizzes are super easy to pass after each section and even if you fail, you can just retake it. Plus the exams on iDriveSafely are “open book” where you can just search for the right answer. iDriveSafely also does not have a final exam like some other courses do, and they guarantee you’ll pass.

My point here is, you don’t even really need to pay that much attention to the course itself. Just grab a beverage, some popcorn, but on a good series, and do your defensive driving course in the background. This is such an easy defensive driving course to pass and there’s not much in the way of videos to watch, so it’s pretty darn easy to multi-task.

Get the Best Price On iDriveSafely Here


How To Find A Fast Texas Online Defensive Driving Course

If for whatever reason you don’t like the courses I recommend, you can always perform your own research and find a a fast defensive driving course pretty easily. Here are some of the main things that you will need to be mindful of.

State Certified – Unfortunately, there are many low-quality online traffic schools out there who claim to offer “state-certified” Texas defensive driving courses online. If you look at the fine print, however, you will notice that many of these courses will use deceitful wording in the courses that are not actually state-certified. Either check with your court clerk’s office to receive a list of certified defensive driving courses in Texas, or you can check out our updated full list of online defensive driving courses in Texas here.

5+ Year Minimum Operating History – Most of the low-quality defensive driving courses are those which have not stood the test of time. There are several online traffic schools and defensive driving courses that have been certified in the state of Texas for two decades or longer. There is no reason to go with the brand-new defensive driving course that nobody has really test it out yet. Defensive driving courses such as iDriveSafely and Improv Traffic School are just two examples of schools that have had millions of people go through their course while maintaining a very high reputation.

U.S. Based Customer Service – The biggest complaint that people have about Texas defensive driving courses you take online is the lack of quality customer service. The vast majority of the online driving schools out there have customer service teams based overseas and primarily and non-English speaking countries. This can be a huge problem because many people will need to contact customer service at some point during their course. Defensive driving schools are required to use identity verification systems and often times you will need to call customer service or they will have to call you in order to verify personal information. Dealing with non-English speaking customer service reps or only having access to customer service during 9 to 5 business hours is of little use and can be very frustrating.

Verifying Positive Online Reviews – The sad truth about “online reviews” is that a large percentage of them are fake. This is quite obviously the case with online traffic school reviews seen on popular websites such as yelp. Many other review sites exist which are actually sites that are created by the online defensive driving courses themselves in order to boost their online reputation. Make sure that you are checking online traffic school reviews on multiple websites.

Finish Your Defensive Driving Course Early To Avoid Shipping Scams!

While not exactly a scam, there is one enormous hidden fee that almost all of the online defensive driving schools in Texas will try to slam you with if you tend to be a procrastinator.

Most of the online defensive driving courses will send you a certificate of completion within 10 to 14 days. That means, if you need to hand in your certificate of completion and just three or four days and you just now completed your defensive driving course, you will not receive your certificate in time. If you’re in this unfortunately situation, you will either need to request an extension from the court or you will need to pay additional fees for expedited shipping and processing. These fees can range from a ridiculous $25 to even over $50 just to receive your ticket overnight or in a couple of days.

Make sure you complete your defensive driving course as soon as possible to avoid any issues as your completion date nears. In the state of Texas, you still need to physically hand in your completion certificate and you cannot send your certificate electronically.

Is Taking A Texas Defensive Driving Course Online Or In A Classroom Better?

There is still a small percentage of people who prefer to take their defensive driving course in a typical classroom setting. Those courses are still available and are an option for you if you prefer not to use the computer to take your course. I can’t figure out why anyone would prefer a classroom, but hey, whatever the least painful method is for you, more power to ya.

The classroom-based defensive driving courses in Texas are generally held at community colleges, schools, and private driving school locations. Generally, the courses are about 6 to 7 hours long and may be completed in one day or over the course of two or three days. Most of them are held on weekends and evenings to work around work schedules. Your local court clerk’s office should have a list of all of the classroom-based defensive driving courses in your area.

In most cases, however, people enjoy the flexibility and ease of use when taking a defensive driving course online. Most of the higher quality defensive driving courses have a mixture of text, video, images, and sometimes even interactive games. You can also log in and log out of your course whenever you would like making it much more bearable as you can truly work around your own schedule and spend as much or as little time on it and one given setting. The decision is ultimately up to you and in the end, it doesn’t really matter because the same result is true – your ticket will be dismissed and your insurance rates will not go up.

See If You Qualify For Insurance Discounts

Many insurance companies will allow you to take a certified Texas online defensive driving course to lower your insurance premiums. You can usually save between 5% and 15% on your monthly premiums for insurance companies that allow this discount. After you complete your defensive driving course don’t forget to send a certificate of completion to your insurance provider to see if you can get a discount. The discount is usually good for up to two years and can be renewed by retaking the course.

Will My Defensive Driving Course Really Take 6 Full Hours?

Hate to break it to ya, but up. All defensive driving courses in Texas, whether you take it online or in a classroom, are required to take a minimum of 6 hours.

Classroom courses generally take a little bit longer as there is usually a 30 min to 1 hr break in the middle of it. And you can’t just blast through online courses because Texas requires the course to be timed.

There’s just no way around it and no shortcuts. Your 6 hour online defensive driving course in Texas really will take a full 6 hours. Sucks, I know.

Some Final Tips And Tricks To Passing Texas Online Defensive Driving Courses

For the most part, online defensive driving courses are pretty simple to pass even if you are really paying attention. The vast majority of courses including the ones I listed have guarantees that you’ll pass.

However, a good tip is to at least read through some of the material and even take some screenshots or pictures of each screen so that when you have to take a quiz or test you can go back and review the course material.

Also, it is not a good idea to have someone else take the course for you as they do have systems in place to verify your identity and having someone else take your course for you all end up giving you more headaches than you realize.

Could you trick Grandma into taking your defensive driving course for you and get away with it? Yes, you probably could. But again, it is not going to be as easy to fool their systems as you think and you’re better off simply getting through it on your own. Also, shame on you for tricking Grandma like that!

Good luck on your course. I feel your pain, but at least you know can sign up for a fast online defensive driving course approved in Texas at the lowest possible price.

Now quit procrastinating and get to it you traffic criminal!

Comparing The Top DMV Approved Online Traffic Schools In California

DMV Approved Online Traffic Schools In California 2021

There’s no state quite like California in the USA. New York may have the nation’s traditional financial center, but when it comes to technology, entertainment, lifestyle, social progress, weather, and even sheer beauty, California is where it’s at. From the Red Woods and vistas of the bay of San Francisco in Northern California to the retro gas stations and the sight of the sand and beaches of Venice Beach in Southern California, this is a great place to live.

And no matter which part of California you live in, whether it’s north, south, on the coast or the in the interior, there’s one thing that doesn’t change. Personally and professionally, this is a state that gives you a lot more room to grow if you can go where you please. Public transportation accessibility varies from one city or town to the next, but with your own car to take you where you need to go your, options are considerable.

That’s why having a car and the license to drive it is so important for your social and professional growth in California.

And if you want to make the most of your driving experience—or even just ensure you continue to have access to it—you’ll probably want to consider going to a DMV-approved online traffic school in California.

But why? What is it? Let’s find out.

The 4 Best California Online Traffic Schools

How Traffic School Works

Some people might have learned how to drive by just practicing with a friend or relative. Others might have formally learned to drive in classes available in high school, or by going with the services provided by a professional driving school. That makes it easy to believe that traffic school will simply be more of the same, but there’s a pretty big distinction between how these two types of schools work.

A driving school teaches people the fundamental mechanics of driving, as well as the basic rules of driving behavior, such as what to do at traffic lights, and what the traffic signals on traffic lights indicate. However, something like a DMV approved online traffic school in California assumes you’ve got the basics down, and are looking to enrich yourself with more about traffic law, as well as more advanced knowledge, such as defensive driving techniques.

Perks & Conveniences Of Online Traffic School In California

What going to a DMV approved online traffic school in California can do for you is make some things easier. New drivers that are still learning get a chance to develop some good driving habits that will serve them well. And even if you’re an older, more established driver, proof of attending a DMV approved online traffic school in California can get you a discount on your insurance premiums. It’s been statistically proven that people who attend a traffic school and take those lessons to heart get into fewer accidents, so some insurance companies will reward that extra effort with better insurance rates. And for people who have gotten into a bit of trouble with the police and been issued tickets and points for moving violations, a DMV approved online traffic school in California can get those points erased from the driving record once proof of completion has been provided.

The other great thing about attending a DMV approved online traffic school in California is that the digital and online format of these schools is a far more convenient way to study. Instead of having to find a physical school that you can commute to, and then create some time in your personal schedule to take classes during the day or evening, just take the online version. You get the same material, but now you can study at your own pace, whether that’s a concerted effort in one weekend, or an hour a day in the mornings before work.

It’s important to note however that you need to make sure the school you’re looking at is an actual DMV approved online traffic school in California. There are plenty of online schools out there, but not all of them teach the materials required by California traffic law if you want to get the insurance discount, or the points deducted from your record, you need that DMV approval. So which one should you go to? We have a few schools we’ve rated very highly, and we think they’re worth looking at.

An Online Traffic School With Comedy & Quality

It’s a more recent DMV-approved online traffic school in California, but it’s one that’s been getting rave reviews from both customers and from reviewers like us. Improv Traffic School is based in Los Angeles, and it has a unique approach. The school has collaborated with professional comedians drawn from the stand-up comic scene of Los Angeles, and let them present the ordinarily dry material of traffic law in their own unique, humorous way.

The material is presented in the form of videos and other interactive elements that keep things lively. So while this is a bit more time intensive, it’s one DMV approved online traffic school in California that will keep you entertained. That may be important for people worried about not being able to retain dull information.

A Faster Online Traffic School

Another DMV approved online traffic school in California that we rate pretty highly is DriversEd.com. The material here is a bit drier in presentation, and it’s available in text for people that prefer to quickly read through the lessons as quickly as possible. That means for people who have strong traditional studying and retention skills, you may be able to finish this course in as little as a day.

This DMV-approved online traffic school in California has over 15 years of experience in teaching, which is reinforced with a positive Better Business Bureau rating for even more peace of mind. They also have a great “try before you buy” policy that lets you try out the first 20% of the course for free to see if you like it before committing to the full lesson.

The Classic Online Traffic School

Finally, there’s iDrivesafely.com, which is a DMV approved online traffic school in California that we’ve been recommending for years, and we don’t see any reason to change our estimation of it as one of the top-rated schools in California. They’re one of the oldest, most successful schools around, having been in operation since 1998.

On top of that, they’ve got the reputation and the choices that you’re looking for. An A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau is a real vote of confidence in their favor. They offer their courses in both video format as well as text format, giving people more choice. While they’re not as funny as other schools, the quality of their teaching is top-notch, and we confidently endorse them.

Requirements For Obtaining A California Driver’s License In 2021

Requirements For Obtaining A California Driver’s License In 2021

When you apply for an original California Driver’s License, you must present acceptable document(s) establishing your identity, residency (if applicable), birthdate, and provide your social security number (SSN), if eligible. The document(s) provided:

  • Must be a certified copy, or an original document.
  • May contain an impressed seal or original stamped impression.
  • Must not be a photocopy.
  • Must not be laminated.

If you present a legal presence document your DL/ID card may expire on the same date as your legal presence document. If the name on your document is different from the name on your DL/ID card application, you must also bring an acceptable true full name document. Your fingerprint, signature, and picture will also be taken (refer to the “Application Requirements for a Basic Class C Driver License” section on page 4). For any other DL/ID card transaction, you must present photo identification.

Examples of acceptable documents include: U.S. Birth Certificate, U.S. Passport, U.S. Armed Forces ID Cards, Certificate of Naturalization, Permanent Resident Card, or a foreign passport with a valid I-94. The I-94 expiration date must be more than two (2) months from the DL/ID card application date.

Examples of true full name verification documents include: Adoption documents containing your legal name as a result of the adoption, name change documents containing your legal name both before and after, a marriage certificate, a certificate or registration document verifying the information of a domestic partnership, or a dissolution of marriage document containing your legal name as a result of the court order.

A complete list of accepted documents is available online at www.dmv.ca.gov.

Application Requirements For A Basic Class C Driver License

To apply for a Class C driver license, you must:

Submit a completed and signed Driver License or Identification Card Application (DL 44) form. Signing this form means you agree to submit to a chemical test to determine the alcohol or drug content of your blood when requested by a peace officer. If you refuse to sign this statement, the DMV will not issue a permit or driver license.

  • Present an acceptable document(s) establishing your identity, residency (if applicable), and birthdate.
  • Provide your true full name.
  • Provide your SSN, if eligible, which will be electronically verified with the Social Security Administration.
  • Pay a non-refundable application fee. The fee is good for 12 months and allows you to take the appropriate law test(s) three times. If you fail the law test and/or driving test three times, your application will be void and a new application and fee are required. This fee pays for both the instruction permit and driver’s license if you qualify for both documents within the 12-month period. If the application expires, you must resubmit documents, repay the application fee, and retake the required tests.
  • Pass a vision test. You must be able to pass a vision test, with or without corrective lenses, with visual acuity better than 20/200 in at least one eye without the use of a bioptic telescopic lens or similar bioptic device to meet the minimum vision acuity standard (CVC §12805(b)).
  • Have your picture taken.
  • Give a fingerprint scan.
  • Sign your name.

How To Get A Driver’s License As A New Driver Under The Age Of 18

If you have never had a driver’s license in California and you are under the age of 18, you’ll first need to apply to get a provisional driving permit. Fill out this form and have your parents sign it to get the process started.

Next, you’ll need to take a driver’s ed course. Most people these days are using an online driver’s ed course to fulfill this requirement. This course is very fast and can be completed in just a day or two. Listed below are the top 4 online driver’s ed courses in California for 2021.

The 4 Best Online Driver’s Ed Courses In California

Once you’ve completed your California online driver’s ed course, it’s time to get your permit so you can start getting some actual driving experience.

You will need to get at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving time and a minimum of 10 of those hours must be nighttime driving experience. You must get this driving time in with a licensed California driver who is 25 years of age or older.

When you are finished with all of your required driving practice, you can go to the DMV, pass a written and driving exam, then get your shiny new driver’s license!

How To Get A Driver’s License As A New Driver Over The Age Of 18

If you’re a new driver over the age of 18, you can skip the driver’s ed and even the required driving practice.

All you need to do is complete the application, then make an appointment at the DMV. Once at the DMV, you’ll provide them with all your required documents, get fingerprinted, have your photo taken, pay a fee of $37, complete a vision exam, pass a written exam & driving exam, at which point you get your license. No classrooms, no driving instructors, and no permits. Easy-peasy.

How To Get A Driver’s License As A New Resident Of California In 2021

In the state of California, you are required to apply for a driver’s license 10 days after establishing residency. Obtaining a license if pretty easy if you already have one from another state.

Go to the DMV with your proper documents, take a vision exam, and in some cases, you may need to pass a written exam. Other than that, you’re good to go. Just make sure you schedule an appointment at the DMV instead of walking in without one.

How To See Better When Driving At Night

How To See Better Driving At Night

It’s never easy driving at night — especially in traffic. You have low visibility, headlights on high beam from clueless drivers shining in your eyes, and you’re usually tired on top of that. It’s no wonder you’re wondering how to see better when driving at night.

Driving at night is proven to be more dangerous, too — 3 times as many fatal road accidents occur at night than during the day, going by the NHTSA’s figures. Seen another way, while only 25% of all driving happens at night, nighttime driving accounts for 50% of all road deaths.

Everything is worse when you drive at night — you’re less able to perceive depth and color, your peripheral vision doesn’t work very well and you have lights shining in your eyes. Basic physics work against you, too — while your headlights on low beam typically light your way no more than 250 feet, you need 200 feet to stop when you’re going at 55 mph, the legal limit in most places. There’s barely any room for error.

So what do you do? Here are 5 tips to help you get home safe when you need to drive at night.

5. Cleaning your headlight covers will help you see better driving at night

Car headlights aren’t made locked in place — they are adjustable. This is why nearly no car on the road has its headlights positioned for the best possible beam — not even new cars. It’s up to drivers to either ask a mechanic to recalibrate their lights or learn the simple procedure by reading through the manual. Drives do neither. Calibrated lights enable better visibility.

Even well-adjusted lights often fail to deliver a good beam. In many cases, for instance, aging plastic headlight lens covers that grow less and less transparent over the years are to blame. You can either buy a headlight polish kit to fix the problem yourself or look up a bit of DIY advice on how it can be done with toothpaste or other simple materials.

4. Lower dashboard and in-car screen lighting to see better driving at night

Modern dashboard displays can have a virtual Christmas tree’s worth of bright lights. If you have them all at full illumination, they can be both distracting and bad for your ability to see in the dark. This is why nighttime race drivers completely turn off their displays — they need to be able to see well and to concentrate on their driving. While turning displays off is a bad idea for most cars, it makes sense to turn the illumination down as low as it will go. This is what the dimmer switch is for. Map lights need to be turned off, too.

Many people don’t realize it can take several minutes for eyes to adjust to nighttime conditions. Having any unnecessary lighting in your car will negatively impact how well you can see driving at night. Even a cell phone car charger with a small LED light on it can negatively impact your vision.

3. Night driving glasses will not help you see better driving at night

Many sunglass displays at stores carry a certain yellow-tinted product that is supposed to offer better nighttime visibility. You only have the manufacturers’ word to go on, though.

The American Academy of Ophthalmology advises drivers to stay away from these glasses because they only offer the illusion of better vision.

The idea behind these yellow tints is that they enhance contrast, making dark objects stand out better. All they do really, though, is to cut down on the light you see and offer a misleading illusion of improved sharpness. If you have normal vision, vision aids can do nothing for you. If you do need prescription glasses, you should wear those and choose lenses that have an anti-reflective coating. Normal eyes don’t need extra help.

2. How to see animals better when driving at night

Running over an animal can involve terrible pain and certain death for the animal. If it’s a larger animal, though, it isn’t good for the car, either. If you hit a large deer, for instance, you can easily lose control of your vehicle or even be crushed under its weight if it lands on your roof.

There are a few tricks to avoiding these collisions at night. For instance, you need to learn to watch out for redeye glints. It’s the same effect that you get with poorly composed nighttime flash shots. The flash hits the retinas and shows them up brightly.

When there is an animal in your path, your headlights will make its retinas shine — you’ll usually see them as two small bright spots in the darkness. When you train yourself to watch out for retinal reflections, you’ll soon learn to effortlessly spot them.

This is one reason why using your high-beam headlights is a good idea. Not only will it help illuminate the eyes of animals in the roadway, but it will spread the beam into the grassy areas on the side of the road. Animals also love to wait in ditches and jump out at the last second, so be sure to scan low lying areas.

1. A clean windshield goes a LONG way in helping you see better driving at night

A dirty windshield or mirrors can easily obscure a great deal of detail. Even a quick wipe is likely to help you see better. Getting windscreen cleaners that repel dust can help you keep your windshield clean long after you clean it.